Parliament begins vetting of Minister of State, 39 Deputy Ministers today

The Appointments Committee of Parliament this morning commences the vetting of the President’s nominees for the positions of a Minister of State and 39 Deputy Ministers.

The scheduled public hearing, which would end on Tuesday, June 15, will begin at 10 am each day.

The nominees are expected to answer questions regarding the stewardship of their former institutions and demonstrate their readiness to serve the nation.

A member of the Committee from the Minority Side, Samuel Okudzeto Ablakwa recently resigned, and the Minority side will have to nominate a new person to replace him.

The nominees include eight females, while all but six, are all sitting members of Parliament.

About 11 of them retained their deputy ministerial status even though some had their portfolios changed.

A former deputy Minister of Finance, Charles Adu-Boahen, was the only nominee for Minister of State at the Ministry of Finance.

Abena Osei-Asare, John Ampontuah Kumah has been nominated for the Finance Ministry, while Nana Dokua Asiamah Adjei, Micheal Okyere Baafi and Herbert Krapa go to the Trade and Industry ministry.

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here