Parliament approves Minister of State and Eleven Deputy Minsters

Parliament has approved Charles Adu Boahen as Minister of State at the Finance Ministry and 11 deputy ministers designate.

This follows the adoption of the report of the Appointment Committee on the nominees vetted by the committee.

The House unanimously approved all the nominees as the committee by consensus recommended their approval.

Minority Leader, Haruna Iddrisu, who doubles as ranking member on the appointment committee however raised concerns about Charles Adu Boahen about the likelihood of he being in a position of conflict of interest.

This is because Mr. Adu Boahen has interest in a company, Black Stars brokerage limited, which is listed as a transactional advisor to government bonds.

Mr. Iddrisu said even if there is no conflict of interest, there is a possibility of insider trading where the minister of state is likely to leak information to his company when the ministry wants to issue bonds.

The nominees approved are Charles Adu Boahen as Minister of State at the Ministry of Finance, Deputy Minister of Lands and Natural Resources, Benito Owusu Bio, Deputy Ministers of Local Government, Decentralisation, and Rural Development, Augustine Collins Ntim and Osei Bonsu Amoah.

The rest are Deputy Minister for Energy, William Owuraku Aidoo; Deputy Minister for Communications and Digitalisation, Ama Pomaa Boateng; Deputy Minister for Railways Development, Kwaku Asante Boateng; Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs, Kwaku Ampratwum Sarpong; Deputy Minister of Food and Agriculture, Yaw Frimpong Addo; Deputy Minister of Fisheries and Aquaculture, Moses Anim; and Deputy Minister of Trade and Industry, Nana Dokua Asiamah Adjei.

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here